David Heskett | proposal one | November 28, 2011

January 26, 2012

Topic one: The use of interactive media within graphic design has had a great impact on me over the years. Currently I have little experience with interactive media out side of little experiments. I feel that it would greatly benefit me to dig deeper into this topic. I find the relationships between sound, color and typography fascinating. I would like to discover more about how the human brain works when encountered with the three elements. I will do this by utilizing a variety of interactive medias I will be able to better myself and grow stronger as a designer.

 

Topic two: Communicating a social issue has always fascinated me because of the many ways issues through design can be displayed. With this I would like to develop a series on childhood obesity and how large of a problem this is becoming especially in the United States.  I feel that this topic is one that is looked over by most. I would like to better others and myself by bringing awareness to this growing issue. I know through research I can create unique pieces that will be based around communicating through design. This will be my first large-scale project that involves such a strong topic and that is emotionally moving.

 

Topic three: Information design over the years has greatly impacted my design work because of the usages of the grid. The grid system is one of the major elements to a graphic designer especially when it relates to information. Without a strong grid to place the information upon the message could be lost in translation. By studying the grid system I know I will better myself as a graphic designer so I may display information that has clarity. Information that has little to no clarity in its design will be incomparable to ones that structured around a thought out grid system.

 

Bibliography


American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry. (2008).Obesity in Children and Teens. Retrieved December 1, 2010 from  http://www.aacap.org/cs/root/facts_for_families/obesity_in_children_and_teens.

Armstrong, Helen. “AIGA | Graphic Design Theory?” AIGA | the Professional Association for Design. 29 Sept. 2009. Web. <http://www.aiga.org/graphic-design-theory/&gt;.

Bennett, James. Design Fundamentals for New Media. Clifton Park, NY: Thomson/Delmar Learning, 2005. Print

“Books.” The Grid System. Web.. <http://www.thegridsystem.org/categories/books/&gt;.

Carter, Rob, Philip B. Meggs, and Ben Day. Typographic Design: Form and Communication. 4th ed. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2007. Print.

Marks, Andrea. Writing for Visual Thinkers: A Guide for Artists and Designers. 2nd ed. New Riders, 2011. Print.

Meggs, Philip B., Alston W. Purvis, and Philip B. Meggs. Meggs’ History of Graphic Design. 4th ed. Hoboken, NJ: J. Wiley & Sons, 2006. Print.

Patton, Phil. “AIGA | Off the Chart.” AIGA | the Professional Association for Design. 8 Mar. 2008. Web. <http://www.aiga.org/off-the-chart/&gt;.

Patton, Phil. “AIGA | This Is Not Only a Test.” AIGA | the Professional Association for Design. 5 Feb. 2008. Web. <http://www.aiga.org/this-is-not-only-a-test/&gt;.

Russell,M. (2006). Obesity in the United States. Retrieved December 1, 2010 from http://ezinearticles.com/?Obesity-In-The-United-States&id=202439.

University of Michigan Health System (2008). Obesity and Overweight. Retrieved December 1, 2010 from http://www.med.umich.edu/yourchild/topics/obesity.htm.

Weber, Nicholas F. “Interaction of Color – Albers, Josef; Weber, Nicholas Fox – Yale University Press.” Interaction of Color. Web. <http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/book.asp?isbn=9780300146936&gt;.

Leave a Reply

